Coming Attractions

Several of my fellow writers have already begun discussing November and the insanity which is National Novel Writing Month. I admit, I look forward to November with that sort of child-like enthusiasm which should be reserved for such things as Christmas morning. Autumn has not yet surrendered to winter. The weather is cold enough to enjoy apple cider, pumpkin pie, and comfort food. And I get to write like a lunatic freshly escaped from the insane asylum.

Joker, you have nothing on me.

I won NaNoWriMo for three years in a row – 2005-2007 – and have subsequently fallen on my ass since then. Granted, I have averaged 40,000 words in the years where I have lost, but there is something about eyeing that prize and wishing it to be yours after so many years of defeat. So, I am in marathon training mode. (And expecting you all to kick my ass prodigiously to ensure I make it to the finish line this year.)

As such, expect to see details popping up on my blog centered on my NaNoWriMo project. (Including a plot synopsis, playlist, and character sheets. Yes, I am taking it that seriously this year. *chuckles*) In the meantime, my training regiment, starting in October, will encompass two projects. I am hoping to finish at least one of them. Both would delight me. (And give the rest of you more morsels to sample while you wait for the release of Fate of the Seer.)

  1. The Vampire Flynn Series: Julian – Just a tentative working title, but this project is my first focus. I got the idea for this from Jess Fortunato’s review of Rebirth of the Seer and said, “Novella about Julian? Done.” What I like about writing this is similar to what I liked about my orphaned piece. (See previous entry.) It gives you all the chance to see how the Supernatural Order normally functions. Each seer’s origin story is different, but each of them went through their paces in their early days and Julian is no exception to the rule. The twist in Julian’s story will come when I reveal another layer to how supernatural gifts are often shared.
  2. Thick As Thieves – The vampire art thief, Walter Krause, who is also being written about in our upcoming Nocturnal Embers anthology. You’ll recognize this as the story I’m updating on my Works In Progress blog, and the only reason I haven’t updated it has been: Deadlines, deadlines, deadlines. This is lower priority than Julian’s piece, but I’m hoping I can finish it before November as well, if just because I have been working on the bloody thing for long enough. 😉 But it also features a character who will be important in the future. And I love laying breadcrumbs.

I know a few of you have decided to refrain from the NaNoWriMo festivities, but are any of you participating? I shall post more about my project soon, but let’s just say it is a project toward which I have alluded in the past, some of you have seen its rough outline, and it might feature in a different Crimson Melodies project.

Let the training commence.

2 thoughts on “Coming Attractions

    • It is one of those personal vindication sort of things for me. Kind of like climbing Mount Everest. Has been too long since I have reached the summit. 😉

Leave a Reply

