Author Interview – Ninette Kelly

In case you missed my first interview with NaNoWriMo participant Wiebke White, you can read it here. Today, we have Ninette Kelly in the hot seat, talking about writer life and her NaNoWriMo plans.

Welcome, Ninette. Tell us more about yourself.

Short, red haired and pale, sitting on a mountain of skulls picking at my fangs. My pen-name is vic_vega66 and I write stuff.

Intimidating mental image and, might I add, you have interesting taste in clothing and weaponry. Alright, let’s get down to business.

1. How long have you been a writer?

I’ve always been a prolific reader, I was the kid who stayed in their bedroom and read a book when everyone else was out playing. I wasn’t allowed to watch the tv but according to my dad nothing was out of bounds book wise. His favourite genre was sci-fi which I still love to this day.

I started writing when I was about 11 years old, my first short was a romantic, historical bodice ripper, written after I’d read ‘the wolf and the dove’ by Katherine Woodiwiss, my mother read it but made no further comment, it was awful I presume.

I carried on writing and wrote a lot of truly awful shorts (which will never see the light of day, hopefully) and there is a novel on my hard drive which I really must work on.

In 2009 I started writing fanfiction for the TrueBlood/Southern Vampire Mysteries fandom which kick started my love of writing again. People do mock fanfiction but to be honest it’s a fantastic, if very harsh way of learning the craft properly, it is a steep learning curve and reviewers are….. honest shall we say.

It was through the fandom that I made some great friends and also acquired two brilliant editors: Linda (NYCSnowbird) and Minnie (AllAboutEric) these two ladies keep me in line and edit the heck out of me.

2. I spent some time in the True Blood fandom myself. Fan fiction is a wonderful tool for developing the craft, especially for “young” writers. (Ones getting started, not necessarily youthful in age.)

Next question for you: What genre(s) do you write?

Vampire, werewolf, fairy, fantasy and erotica.

3. These are a few of my favorite things. 😉 Do you have any published works? And if so, where could my readers find them?

My entry for NANOWRIMO 2010 – A Blood Red Moon, with a very lovely banner by Mavrosal, is available through Amazon.com. My entry for 2011 has been edited and I’m currently working up the courage to publish it.

You can read my winning entry to the Hall of Mirrors contest here: Need to know –http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7142016/1/Need-to-Know

I entered the MyVampFiction annual contest in 2011, although it didn’t win anything I am immensely proud of it: The Devil you know – http://vicvega66.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/1193/

My entry to the (Un) happy ever after contest is here, I think that it’s one of the best things I’ve ever written: ‘A lose, lose situation – http://vicvega66.wordpress.com/a-lose-lose-situation/

If you fancy a naughty giggle then ‘stay dead already’ might be your thing (it’s full of fandom in-jokes and is rather rude) http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6629051/1/Stay-Dead-Already

4. Lots of good reading available. I will have to take a look soon myself. You and I met on Twitter, but where else online can you be found?

My blog is here: http://vicvega66.wordpress.com/ I don’t do FaceBook but I am on twitter @fangreadersLJ

5. Excellent, and remember folks: Always practice safe stalking.

Let’s switch tracks to NaNoWriMo. I asked Wiebke about this and now I want to know from you; how many times have you participated in NaNoWriMo?

I’ve participated in NANO twice, in 2010 and 2011 and completed it both times.

6. Do you have any practices which help you get ready for NaNoWriMo?

Not a lot to be honest, well, actually nothing at all.

I’m a member of several communities on LiveJournal and that’s it, I never plan a thing, I just pull the story out of my head as I go along. It’s quite scary when you see people who have been plotting their stories all year long and also buy special software, note-books and coloured pens. I have my trusty laptop, an ancient version of MS Word, and an endless supply of tea and nicotine.

My blue writing jumper is also very important, it’s full of holes and should be binned but I can’t write without it.

One thing I have learnt is, back-up, back-up, back-up!

In 2010 I lost 3k words around day 22 and I cried and raged for about two hours solid, fortunately I had been uploading as I went along to my LiveJournal so I had to spend three precious hours copy/pasting the chapters into a word doc only to discover that LiveJournal is written on a Mac so the formatting was totally screwed. I never figured out where the 3k words had gone.

By the time Sunday the 31st arrived I was so tired I couldn’t see straight, so smelly my family wouldn’t come near me and so hungry I could have eaten a chair leg.

I really had to force myself to write the last 200 words before midnight, it was a real anti-climax when I hit 50k to realise that no fireworks went off, no marching bands, no grand announcement, no, the little meter thing went purple and that was that.

7. They really need to do something about that. I need a cart for food along the way and a band ready to blare when I hit 50k myself. 😉

Do you have any playlists for this year’s story?

No, I find music distracting, I prefer to listen to the radio, Radio1 preferably, the mixture of music and talk fades into the background very nicely. I need head-space when I write, music is too immersive and emotive.

8. Radio is a good in-between. Gives the background noise and ambiance without trapping you into your favorite songs. Now you have me curious; tell us about this year’s story.

I have absolutely no idea, it will come to me or the flashing cursor of doom will taunt me.

I’ll might write the next installment of the Vampire King series or the next great American novel or perhaps journal my utterly disastrous last two years, I’ve had the lot; redundancy, death, debt and recently impending divorce.

9. May the words be ever in your favor.

Thank you for visiting with us, Ninette. Before I let you go, share a few of your favorite quotes with us.

I have several, my favourite author is Hunter S Thompson:

When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.

I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they’ve always worked for me.

The Edge… there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over.

Lieutenant Bill Kilgour – Apocalypse Now

“I love the smell of Napalm in the morning”

My father, who passed away in April 2012:

“No defeat, no surrender.”

“Ain’t nothing sure in life except death and taxes.”

“Ain’t no pockets in a shroud.”

I’m best described as a gloomy pessimist though my friends say I have a wicked sense of humour.

And a wicked sense of humor is the best medicine, in my opinion.

If you would like to be featured on my blog as well, get in contact with me and I can add you to the features. And if you need some ideas for how to prepare for NaNoWriMo, their website has posted some suggestions and reading material for you.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview – Ninette Kelly

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Ninette Kelly | ninette kelly

  2. Pingback: For Those About to NaNoWriMo… « The Man Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

