Author Interview – Kayleigh Grian

Continuing on in our NaNoWriMo author feature, I am pleased to have Kayleigh Grian with me. Kayleigh is a fellow Indie Rogue, a remarkable girl, and happens to share a name with one of the most important women in my life, my youngest daughter. 😉

Jump up onto the hot seat, Kayleigh, and tell us a bit more about yourself…

1. My first question is the same as it has been for my… other victims. How long have you been a writer?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember.  I started my first book when I was in the third grade and worked on it off and on for about 3 years or so.  Then during a move the manuscript mistakenly got packed into box headed for storage and I quit working on it.  One of these days I plan on dragging it back out and finishing it though!

2. I do not think I would ever touch my first novel again, but I have several others I would love to finally revisit myself. I commend you for having the drive to do so. Now, when you write, what genre(s) do you prefer?

I tend to gravitate towards dark or fantasy stories.  From serial killers to paranormal and many things in between.

3. A serial killer dark fantasy tale awaits you in your future. *evil laughter*
Next question: Do you have any published works? If so, where might my readers find them?

Not yet, though I’m working on several projects that I’m hoping to have published sometime in 2013.  Those interested in checking them out can find excerpts and updates here (http://kgrian.blogspot.com/p/works-in-progress.html)

4. And hopefully, when the time comes, I can coax you back here to talk about your book. Where else could we find you if we wanted to keep up-to-date on your work?

Blog: http://kgrian.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KGrian

FB: http://www.facebook.com/KayleighGrian

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7599955-kayleigh-grian

5. Now, to the NaNoWriMo questions, my dear. How many times have you participated?

This will be my second attempt at NaNo.  I heard about it last year about midway through November and decided to go for it anyway, at least it would give me a feel for how it works etc.  I didn’t come anywhere close to finishing the project on time, but I think I’m much better prepared for this year.

6. Very bold of you to jump into the stream mid-current. Now that you know about it, I assume you have a few things you are doing to prepare this year?

Well, this year I’ve spent a good bit of October brainstorming, plotting, getting to know my characters etc.  I’m hoping that will allow me to just write come November.  I found last year (since I hadn’t done any of that) I would have to stop and figure things out in the middle of my writing time.

I’m also fortunate enough to have a great regional group.  They’ve planned kick off parties, all day write ins, and lots of encouragement and support.  I’m really looking forward to giving this a real effort this year.

7. The write ins are a great deal of fun. I am looking forward to those myself. It seems you have done some excellent things to prepare this year. Do you listen to music when you write?

I wish.  I can’t seem to write and listen to music at the same time.  Every time I try to do that I get too wrapped up in the music and only managed to get a few words down.  Though on the commute to work I’ll to something like Natalie Imbruglia’s Torn, or Wake me up Inside by Evanescence, just to get some emotions flowing.  For some reason I tend to write better when I’m sad or upset lol.

8. Seems to work similarly for me. Now, for the part we are have been waiting for. Tell us more about this year’s project.

This year I’m still not quite sure which project I’m going to go with.  I had been planning on working on Sapphire and Sage, one of the WIP on my blog.  I know, I know, technically you are suppose to start from scratch.  But I figured I only have 3k written and I might not even use most of it, so it’s almost like starting over :p  It’s about a set of twin sisters who were separated as toddlers when their parents were murdered.  The two are reunited and learn that they come from a long line of powerful witches and that their parents were killed because of that.  They’ll have to learn to work together and control their new powers if they hope to survive.

Then this past weekend I had another idea for a project come to me while I was knocked out from cold meds.  A small group of teens mysteriously get a full scholarship to a small prestigious boarding school.  The first few weeks go well but soon they start to realize that the school is using them in a social psychic experiment.  Those running the school become increasingly demanding of the teens and are quiet cruel once the group starts to rebel, even to the point of shackling them.  Saura Lockheart must become the leader she never thought she could be and use her newly developed psychic abilities to free the group before things get any worse.

I’m hoping to have enough of the second project developed before NaNoWriMo officially starts, and if so that’s the one I’ll be working on.

8. However your muse leads you, we look forward to tracking your progress. If you would like to keep up with Kayleigh, her NaNoWriMo profile page can be found here.
Now, finally, share one of your favorite quotes with us before you go.

This one had nothing to do with writing or anything, but I have always loved the Ben Franklin quote,Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.”

The more I watch society give up some of their rights in hopes of safety, even the illusion of safety, the more I believe in this quote.  Too many people don’t stop to think about surrendering their rights until it is too late, especially if it’s something that doesn’t directly effect them.

I could not agree more, Kayleigh, and one of these days I might be bold enough to share my thoughts on the subject as well. All I can do is encourage everyone to get out and vote this election year.

Thank you for joining us for this interview! And to my readers, I know I keep asking my blog visitors about their playlists. I promise a treat in my next post which highlights why. If there are any other NaNoWriMo participants who would not mind being interviewed, leave a comment. It would be my pleasure to feature you.

Until next time, dear friends, be well.

4 thoughts on “Author Interview – Kayleigh Grian

  1. Pingback: For Those About to NaNoWriMo… « The Man Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

