Prelude to Madness Blog Tour – Esais Interview

Welcome readers, and thank you again for joining me. Today, we have a rare treat. A character who is not in my headspace has volunteered for an interview and I could not be more excited about it. As a lover of all things macabre and supernatural, I am an avid enthusiast of the Van Helsings, and one of them has managed to take time from his busy schedule to chat. Ladies and gentlemen, may I please introduce Mr. Esais Van Helsing.

Esais appears in the soon-to-be released book, A Prescription for Delirium, penned by fellow rogue Noree Cosper. Noree and I will also be in an upcoming anthology, Nocturnal Embers, which makes this a good time to be a dark fantasy scribe. Back to you, Esais… Make yourself comfortable. I promise the voices in my head won’t bite.

Well, if they know what’s good for them, they won’t.

1. Now, you are a member of the esteemed Van Helsing family. What was it like growing up with such an infamous distinction?

*Laughs* I’m not sure what anything else would be like. It’s all I’ve ever really known. Yes, we get the “Like in the book?” question a lot and it’s annoying but it’s life. My father expected a lot from us. We have a legacy to uphold and all. So, instead of family vacations we went on vampire hunts. Well, until my parents…

2. How is your relationship with your brothers?

I raised Tres for the past ten years so we are pretty close. He was all I had left at that time. Adrian seems just as much of a pain as he was before he left.

3. What was one of the more exciting events you have experienced due to being in such an unusual family?

When I was twelve my father took my older brother Adam and I on a hunt. The vampire was insane and believed it was Santa Claus. It was taking children with the promise of presents. Things became complicated and we ended up have to burn him. *pauses* Adam never enjoyed Christmas after that.

4. What is one of the more interesting stories passed down from your ancestors?

I have heard stories of vampires that could detach their heads from their bodies and float around just head and entrails. I’ve never come across one though. From what I’ve read they prey on children.

5. What is your impression of this Gabriella woman who suddenly landed into your world? Do you think she can be trusted?

She’s interesting. I think she has a wealth of knowledge and stories I would love to hear. As for trusting her, well, I believe I can.

6. How nervous are you about the events about to unfold?

I wouldn’t say I’m nervous. Yes, this is dangerous to the point that we could die, or worse. But this is part of what my family is. We don’t expect to see old age.

7. Now, for a few lighter questions, what are some of your favorite hobbies?

Reading. Books always give me peace. I am interested in exploring more social aspects like clubbing, but never really got the chance.

8. Do you have any preferred weapons or special training?

Knowledge is the greatest weapon I have. I have the knowledge of my ancestors. Other than that, I am partial to the shotgun.

9. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you venture and with whom?

Well, since I’ve made to America. *laughs* I was always curious what it was like here. This town is not what I expected. I’m hoping we can go somewhere bigger soon.

10. Finally, if you could relive any memory, which one would you choose and why?

Right before my brother Adrian left for America we had a family dinner. He and my parents had been arguing for months, but he’d managed to win with Adam’s help. That night there was no arguing. It was the last time we were all together.

Before I let you go…

1. Chocolate or vanilla? Both. Some days vanilla is good enough and some days you just need chocolate.

2. Motorcycles or cars? I prefer cars.

3. Earth or fire? Fire

4. Water or air? Air

5. Coke or Pepsi? Oh Coca Cola.

 

Thank you once again for joining us, Esais. If any of my readers are interested in Esais and the Van Helsing brothers – as well as their strange new companion, Gabriella – you need look no further. Here’s more information on the book, A Prescription for Delirium:

Ninety years ago, Gabriella di Luca promised to protect the family of her dying lover. She failed to keep that promise.  She was too far away to stop the devil that murdered the eldest Van Helsing son. Years later, Gabby learns the devil has resurfaced. She arrives in Hampton, TX, determined to stop the devil before it can lay a bloody hand on the remaining three brothers.

However, madness is spreading through Hampton. She suspects the devil is using this madness to test a drug which has a side effect of demonic possession.  Gabby rushes to end the source of the madness only to fall victim to it. For a woman cursed with eternal life, dying is no threat. However, Gabby must stop the devil’s plot or risk losing her most precious possession: her mind.

A Prescription for Delirium is released on December 1st, 2012.

And please allow me to introduce the author:

Noree Cosper loves writing about magic in the modern world. While growing up in Texas she constantly searched for mystical elements in the mundane. She buried her nose in both fiction and books about Wicca, Religion, and Mythology. Everyday became an adventure as she joined a group of role-players, acting out her fantasies of vampires, demons, and monsters living in the world.

She embraced her nerdom wholeheartedly.

Noree grew, but never left her love for fantasy and horror. Her dreams pushed her and her hand itched to write the visions she saw. So, with her fingers on the keys, she did what her heart had been telling her to do since childhood. She wrote.

Noree can be found stalking people on Twitter and Facebook.

Be sure to check out her website for news on her works and tidbits of information

She also likes to ramble about things magical and supernatural on her blog Trip the Eclipse.

4 thoughts on “Prelude to Madness Blog Tour – Esais Interview

  1. Pingback: Van Helsings Take eBook World By Storm « The Man Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

