The Liebster Blog Award 2013

*coughs, blows the dust from the blog and smiles sheepishly*

Liebster Award IISo, I haven’t been blogging as much so far this year. Chalk it off to illness, deadlines, and children, but it’s been difficult to find the thoughts to string together, let alone the time. But despite all of that, Noree Cosper has nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award, which I am taking as an admonition to be blogging more. I couldn’t be more honored, Noree, so thank you.

Here are the Liebster Award Rules:
  1. Thank the blogger who presented you with the Liebster Award, and link back to his or her blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions from the nominator; list 11 random facts about yourself, and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  3. Present the Liebster Award to 11 bloggers, who have blogs with 200 followers or less, whom you feel deserve to be noticed.  Leave a comment on the blogs letting the owners know they have been chosen. (No tag backs.)
  4. Upload the Liebster Award image to your blog.
Here my answers to Noree’s eleven questions:
  1. What hobbies do you have?
    I’m one of those people who doesn’t have a hobby so much as I have a myriad of flirtations and a few trysts with things other than writing. I love the arts in general. I sing along to music, visit museums, and love the theater. I dabble with writing scripts, have fifteen half-finished books I’m reading, and would love to take dance lessons. Perhaps one of these days I might finally become fluent in French, too.
  2. Do you have any pets? Do you want any pets? What kind?
    JR and I have two cats: Mischief and Nibbler. Mischief is a big, stupid ball of love fluff. Nibbler is secretly plotting world domination when he isn’t busy annoying Mischief.
  3. What song is “your song?” Why?
    There are so many I identify with at any given time. Right now, I could easily say “Some Nights” by fun., but even that’s not exactly correct. The song “In Chains” by Depeche Mode used to be played on repeat when with an ex. “Such Great Heights” by The Postal Service makes me think of JR. Catch me at any moment, ask me that question, and you’ll get a different answer every time.
  4. What do you think makes a good story?
    When you can grab me, uproot me, throw me into your world, and immerse me in it. When your characters make me laugh, cry, and get utterly pissed off at them. When you put them through hell and drag them back out of it. When the plot surrounding them only makes them bolder, stronger, or more exposed. Those are the stories I latch onto.
  5. As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?
    For a while, I wanted to be a lawyer. I worked my ass off in school to try for Harvard and everything. And then, one day, my grandfather pulled me aside and smacked some sense into me. “A lawyer? You kidding?” he said. “You’re a writer. You’re good at writing. Be a journalist or something.” That my practical-as-hell, WWII vet grandfather felt the need to deter me from one possibly-lucrative career to a lesser one stuck with me. I miss him.
  6. What is you favorite type of monster?
    The reason why I like vampires is because they’re so much like us. They’re our cultural reflection at the moment; our inner demons, the things we both love and fear all at once. They represent our non-stop quest for some form of immortality, and the desires we keep barely-bridled by whatever the current list of societal taboos are.
  7. What would be the perfect gift for you?
    You know how people argue that gift cards are so impersonal? To hell with that. Give me a gift card to Starbucks or a book store, and I’m happier than a pig in mud. Unless you want to fund a night at the opera for me and JR, that is.
  8. What time of day is your favorite?
    That time directly after sunset, when the night’s just begun. I blame the vampires in my head.
  9. What’s the most beautiful thing you’ve ever seen?
    Anybody who’s a parent and doesn’t say their newborn child is dead inside. I will never forget holding my oldest son for the first time, that terrifying epiphany hitting me that I’d helped bring something so beautiful and so complex into the world. New life is hope and potential and it is staggeringly amazing.
    Of course, I might’ve gone overboard having four of them. 😉
  10. What habit that others have annoys you most?
    Inconsiderateness. I admit, I’m generally oblivious, but if I find out I’m in someone’s way or have neglected to include or give deference to someone, I’ll be the first to apologize for it. People who wallow in apathy and get annoyed when you dare to exist in their general space… are the people I most wrestle with the desire to go Flynn on.
  11. If you became a vampire, what would you do?
    We don’t want to hand me that loaded weapon. Have you met Flynn?
    Seriously, though, while Flynn is often those things I fear I would do, Robin is the vampire I would more strive to be. Someone who’s life might be woefully tragic at times, but still puts himself out there to experience the world. He’s traveled to so many countries, learned so many languages and so many cultures, and this in only a century. He has a passion for learning. He’s read Sherlock Holmes’s stories a million times or better. He’s a little kid when we watch Downton Abbey. He doesn’t make any apologies for being himself, but that both includes the man and the monster he is.
    So… where’s the vampire who wants to turn me?

Now, the dreaded eleven facts about me:

  1. I’m about to turn 33. I both love and hate birthdays. I like the celebration aspect, not so much the aging.
  2. I’ve lived in four different states, in four different parts of the country: Pennsylvania, Minnesota, Arizona, and South Carolina.
  3. Saying I’m bisexual is sort of a lie. I’m pansexual, which means gender isn’t a hindrance when it comes to falling in love with someone.
  4. Sometimes, I’m a little demisexual, too. I don’t have to be in love with you to be sexually attracted to you, but there should be some emotional connection before I follow through with it.
  5. I get scared by the popping noise a canister of biscuits makes when you open it. Likewise, I hate the sound of balloons popping.
  6. I stick my tongue out when I’m concentrating on something intently. Completely subconscious.
  7. I currently play Clint Barton in a Twitter roleplay. Have a problem? I’ve got an arrow for that.
  8. I’m also an avid Dungeons and Dragons player. Sadly, this still hasn’t led to a crushing addiction to witchcraft. Damn you, Jack Chick. (Lvl 9 Rogue, in case you were wondering.)
  9. I’m a spiritual person. Still identify as a Christian. Still a fairly moderate one. Been flirting with the Episcopal church lately and not off-put by it at all. There’s some comfort in formality.
  10. I have two tattoos and am starting off my midlife crisis by getting a third soon.
  11. I’m not really a gamer, but I still play World of Warcraft. If you’re on Lothar, look for a level 90 blood elf rogue named Crimsonflynn. (For the Horde!)

Now, it’s your turn…

Here are my eleven questions for you:

  1. What is your favorite game? (Board or video.)
  2. Vampire or werewolves?
  3. Your current television obsession?
  4. What movie are you looking forward to seeing the most this year?
  5. If you could pick three people to be stuck in an elevator with, who would it be?
  6. If you could jump into a book and visit its world, which one would you choose?
  7. Who is your role model?
  8. The silliest thing you’ve ever seen an animal do?
  9. If you could body swap with anyone for a day, who would it be?
  10. Who was your first crush?
  11. If you got a tattoo, what would you get? (Or which is your favorite if you have one?)

As for who I am nominating…

Well, considering I’ve seen quite a few people I would nominate already nominated… I’m nominating anyone who reads this. I know it’s cheating, but considering I don’t know you all, this is an excellent chance to remedy that. Post a link to your entry in the comments (or if you’ve already done one, post the link there, so my other readers can get to know you.)

Or, if you just want to answer my questions… post a comment. 😉

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award 2013

  1. Pingback: Aren’t I the Lucky One | Drops of Ink

    • Oh, you should see me try to open them. It cracks JR up everytime. I’m holding it far away from my body while turning my head and wincing. Even I realize how ridiculous I look.

Leave a Reply

