Blogger Book Fair – Meet Wynne Channing

Greetings, friends, and welcome back to my blog. To resume the previously scheduled broadcasting (i.e., to get more in the habit of having blog posts and features here again), I decided to participate in the Blogger Book Fair this year. And to kick things off, I have a special treat.

Make sure you’re keeping an eye on this blog and on Peter’s Vampire Flynn blog for BBF posts this week!

What Kills Me Cover SmallI’m pleased to feature on the blog today, Wynne Channing, author of the bestselling paranormal adventure novel: What Kills Me.

Here’s an excerpt from the book which is the first in a series. The sequel, I Am Forever, is out this winter!

“Hello?” I called out. The sound of my own voice, broken and afraid, pushed me over the edge and my body shook with sobs. “Can anyone help me?”

My tears were hot on my face. The pillars around me were carved with undecipherable symbols. I hobbled further and found the source of the light. Hundreds of red candles jutted from the ground, the shining, melting wax creating blood-red pools. They seemed to be arranged around a circular formation of boulders. When I got closer, I saw that the rocks lined a hole in the ground.

What is that?

I looked into that black hole and I shivered.

“Is anyone here?” I said.

I heard the crunch of sand behind me and I spun around. It was Paolo. He opened his arms as if to invite me in for an embrace.

“Why did you run from me?” he asked, sounding surprised.

“Stay away from me,” I said.

“Don’t be like that.” He took a step toward me. I stepped back. I felt the heat from the wax through the soles of my slippers.

“I said, ‘Don’t come near me.’”

“Is that any way to treat me after I rescued you when you were lost? After I took you around Rome, bought you gifts, and invited you to this amazing place?”

My tears pooled under my chin. I lifted my heel and found it stuck to the wax.

“Come here, Zee,” he said. “Let me put you out of your misery.”

Horrified, I staggered back. Time slowed. Paolo ambled toward me, a smile spreading on his face. I backed away farther from him, knocking over candles. My heel hit a small rock. I looked over my shoulder and realized with shock I was now very close to that foreboding hole. At that same moment I saw the rock skitter into it. There was no sound of the rock landing.

I’m going to die.

“Stop!” A voice shouted. Startled, we both turned toward the sound. An older man in a hooded blue robe was running toward us.

Suddenly I was off balance, tipping over. I was falling. Falling into the hole. I saw Paolo dive for me with outstretched hands. Screaming, I clawed once at nothing.

Then there was only black.

Buy What Kills Me to see what happens!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo | iTunes | Goodreads

About the top-rated, best-selling book: An ancient prophecy warns of a girl destined to cause the extinction of the vampire race. So when 17-year-old Axelia falls into a sacred well filled with blood and emerges a vampire, the immortal empire believes she is this legendary destroyer. Hunted by soldiers and mercenaries, Axelia and her reluctant ally, the vampire bladesmith Lucas, must battle to survive. How will she convince the empire that she is just an innocent teenager-turned bloodsucker and not a creature of destruction? And if she cannot, can a vampire who is afraid of bugs summon the courage to fight a nation of immortals?

HeadshotAbout Wynne: Wynne Channing is an award-winning national newspaper reporter and best-selling young adult novelist. Wynne loves telling stories and as a journalist, she has interviewed everyone from Daniel Radcliffe and Hugh Jackman to the president of the Maldives and Duchess Sarah Ferguson. The closest she has come to interviewing a vampire is sitting down with True Blood‘s Alexander Skarsgard (he didn’t bite). She briefly considered calling her debut novel “Well” so then everyone would say: “Well written by Wynne Channing.”

Connect with Wynne

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Google+ | Pinterest | Instagram | YouTube |Amazon Author Page

2 thoughts on “Blogger Book Fair – Meet Wynne Channing

  1. Pingback: Blogger Book Fair – Guest Post by Michael Brookes | The Man Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

