Character Interview – Olexander from Sacrifice

5360929449_25e01fdcef_zHello, readers, and thank you for joining us. Today, I have the pleasure of hosting Olexander, one of the characters from Jess Fortunato’s new book Sacrifice.  Greetings, Olexander, and thank you for joining me on my blog.

Now, I have to admit, I’m a huge fan, so this is an honor for me, personally. Please, take a seat and make yourself comfortable. How my interviews usually work… I give you ten personal questions and ten rapid fire ones. Sort of to let us get to know you a little better. Answer them as much or as little as you want.

If you’re ready, we’ll begin.

I am ready and will be happy to answer any questions you may have.  I have promised Liliana I will be more sociable, and since she has sent Julia to monitor my answers today, I must be on my best behavior.

  1. My first question is a little bit of a warm up. Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m not certain if this counts as interesting but I was the last person to visit Al Capone before his death.  He had called upon me when learning of his sickness and considered me a friend if you can imagine that.  I performed the rites on him, as I was taught to.  Despite his other “colleagues” finding me to be superstitious folly, Al was a true believer.

  1. What is being a sin collector like for you?

It has been difficult.  Many humans as well as my fellow Collectors believe that what we do should have many shades of grey, picking and choosing those worthy.  I was taught that Collecting was a privilege and a sacred charge from God.  In that way, if I am called upon and I am able, I will perform my duty.

  1. How does your job affect things like your own personal religious beliefs?

At times, I wonder why the Gods have chosen to allow any of the humans into paradise.  They can be lazy, self-centered, and arrogant.  I have faith that I was placed upon this earth for a reason, and to ignore that reason would be blasphemy.  If God wishes for his children to have salvation, who am I to question it.

  1. How has your life changed over the years?

It was always quite simple to see the negative in humans, and as I stated above it was disheartening.  Liliana has helped me to see that I had become jaded in my view of the world.  Yes, there are those who are spiteful, cold, and angry.  Yet there are so many more filled with love, hope, and a willingness to sacrifice what they want for another’s happiness.  Liliana has helped me see how truly connected we are and that knowledge alone has changed my heart in ways I cannot describe.

  1. What are some of the more interesting places you’ve visited over the years?

I was quite excited to be in Berlin during the fall of the Berlin wall.  I spent a large chunk of the 18th century living near the Isle of Skye in Scotland.  I studied martial arts in Japan.  One of my favorite places in the world is New Zealand, I hope to take my family and make a home there one day.

  1. Share with us one experience from your past that still lingers with you today.

I came to the Americas during your civil war.  Later I found out this had been the case for many Collectors.  It was among the most brutal scenes I had ever witnessed.  The enormous loss of life coupled with the brutality of each man’s death was nearly unbearable.  I’d Collected the sins of soldiers before of course, however their faces stayed with me much longer than I would have liked.

  1. If you could have chosen anything else to do with your life, what would you have picked?

I’m not entirely sure.  Liliana and Julia would most likely say a drill sergeant *chuckles*.  There was however a time, very long ago, when my greatest joy came from painting and sketching.  I could sit for hours with charcoal in hand sitting as still as a statue until the frenzy of muse came upon me.

  1. What do you like best about yourself?

That is difficult to say.  The best parts of myself, as well as my life, are all entwined now with my family.

  1. What do you like least about yourself?

In a crisis, I tend to shut down my emotions.  This can make me appear cold and callous to the situation.  It is merely a poor way to hide my own fear of losing what I love.

  1. Where do you see yourself going from here?

In times such as these I cannot guarantee where I will end up.  What I can guarantee is that I will always be with my family.  To have them with me always makes the geography seem of little value.  I hope to see peace in all of our futures.  The time for fighting needs to be done.

Alright, we made it past the tough questions! Thank you for giving my readers more insight into you as a character. Now… the rapid fire questions. Let’s begin!

  1. Chocolate or vanilla? Espresso

  2. Beatles or Rolling Stones? Beatles

  3. Driving or flying? Flying, there is (almost) nothing safer

  4. Swimming or hiking? Hiking

  5. Favorite toppings on a sundae? Caramel

  6. Favorite vacation spot? I’d love to take my family to Greece, it is most beautiful there.

  7. Night or day? Night is less populated and more serene.

  8. Vampires or werewolves? The girls are always watching those insufferable teen movies.  In that instance, I must vote werewolves.

  9. Beer or wine? Scotch

  10. Sam or Dean Winchester? I’m unfamiliar with these Winchesters.  I was a close friend of Oliver Winchester, and his son William, well known for manufacturing guns.  It was an awful shame what became of William’s wife Sarah all alone in that chaotic mansion of hers.

Thanks once again for joining us, Olexander! My readers and I look forward to reading more about you in Sacrifice

Thank you for having me.  Liliana was entirely accurate, you are a kind and gracious host.

flair2

radianceAs an immortal Sin Collector, Liliana lead a transient life of solitude for over one-hundred years.

Now with a growing family, she has found herself liking normalcy and the façade of being human.  However, when old friends begin to turn up dead, it is clear Collectors are not safe.  The battle that Liliana thought she’d won, has only just begun.

She must save herself, her family, and her friends from the Castus, a fanatical group sworn to eradicate her kind.

As Liliana travels the globe making allies, and discovering secrets, she soon learns that the threat to her safety is closer than she ever thought possible.

Will she be able to fight her fate, or will she succumb to an ancient Castus prophecy?

Sacrifice is the latest book in The Sin Collector Trilogy. You can order it on Amazon, or find out more about it by visiting these links:

Leave a Reply

